Main Banner
Fast Fact Image

The cornerstone for the third, and current courthouse was laid on May 21, 1903. It cost $90,600 to build and was designed by the architects Smith and Gage. The exterior walls are covered with Bedford stone veneer and the roof is all tile. The clock tower, which rises from the middle of the building, sets the building apart from all others. The courthouse is situated on a large town square and is the pride of Centerville and Appanoose County.

Emergency Management


ADLM Emergency Management Agency

  • Appanoose County Emergency Management
  • Davis County Emergency Management
  • Lucas County Emergency Management
  • Monroe County Emergency Management

Contact: Mike Lamb Coordinator

ADLM Building
12307 Hwy 5 PO Box 399
Moravia, IA 52571
Phone: 641-724-3223
Fax: 641-724-3273

Local Emergency Management Commissions

Iowa Code, Chapter 29C.9 calls for the establishment of Local Emergency Management Commissions to oversee local emergency management functions within each county. The commission is comprised of a member of the County Board of Supervisors or its appointed representative, the sheriff or the sheriff’s representative, and the mayor or the mayor’s representative from each city within the county.

According to the Iowa Code 29C.10, the Emergency Management Commission shall appoint an Emergency Management Coordinator and delegate their authority in order to fulfill the Commission’s duties as described in the Iowa Code and Administrative Rules. When a disaster or emergency occurs, the emergency management coordinator shall provide coordination and assistance to the governing officials of the municipalities and the county.

ADLM Emergency Management Agency was formed several years ago by a 28e agreement subject to the Iowa Code, Chapter 29C.9, Iowa Code 29C.10 and the Administrative Rules with the four counties: Appanoose, Davis, Lucas, and Monroe (ADLM). A Local Emergency Management Commission comprised of 1 supervisor or their representative , sheriff or their representative, and 1 mayor from each county to serve as the board. The board in 2009 decided to hire 2 coordinators to oversee the four counties after the former coordinator took another position with Home Land Security. It was decided the workload was too great for one person to be able to serve the four counties.

A few Examples of the functions and responsibilities as outlined in the associated Administrative Rules Section 605, Chapter 7 include:

  • Develop and maintain each counties Emergency Operations Plan and test this plan through exercises.
  • Develop and establish a warning system.
  • Assist other governmental entities within each county in developing organizational plans and training programs.
  • Develop standard operating procedures for the Emergency Operations Center (EOC) and supervises EOC operations.
  • Maintain inventory of county-wide resources (resource management)
  • Prepare and present a budget to the Emergency Management Commission.
  • Maintain liaison with local, county, and state offices.
  • Direct training of staff and volunteers, and assist cities and the county with its training programs.
  • Prepare informational material for dissemination to the public.
  • Meet with interested groups to explain the emergency management program and enlist their support and cooperation.